3rd World Living (continued)

Recently I spoke to a man who grew up in a family where hundreds of thousands of dollars changed hands on a daily basis. Money was certainly not a problem for them. I mentioned my ideas to him about how the way we think and understand things affects our circumstances.

I asked if he had observed something different about the way his family thought and did things. He thought  for a minute and then said that he had. He said that most of his friends got an allowance each week. He asked them what an allowance was, they said that it was money that they got from their parents each week. He asked what they did to earn it. They said they didn’t have to, that it was what their parents owed to them. ??? He mentioned how his father would give him and his siblings money but always in return for work. This was nothing new to me, I had to work for every cent that I received.

He also said that his father talked about the role of risk and how there is no gain without risk. I found that interesting. I had no concept of risk in relation to money. Only recently have I begun to understand how value can be created through strategic use of risk. That is where I need to investigate more thoroughly in the near future.

The man is now a Real Estate salesman, making million dollar deals on a regularly. He found that he was good at and enjoyed sales when he was in high school selling subscriptions for school publications. So he worked at a few different firms and eventually started his own business. He is doing very well, from what I have observed.

It makes me wonder what other things people learn in their youth which leads them to make winning decisions throughout their life.

Leave a Reply

