Why 100,000?

I want a better car, one that gets better gas mileage and has four-wheel drive. I’d like a nicer apartment, eventually a nice house. Girlfriends can be expensive I hear, not to mention marriage and a family. I like my laptop but what if it crashes or gets stolen? How about some nicer clothes, my old ten-dollar hoody is getting a bit frayed and I’m embarrassed to where it in public. But it’s better than my last one, which I wore while working as a welder’s assistant, I get embarrassed wearing that even in private. A mobile device with WiFi would be nice.

These are some of the more frivolous reasons that I came up with. But these hardly generate enough drive to get me to do what it takes.

Favorite pastimes: I like to fish but a fishing license is pretty expensive. I would love to be able to buy some nice fishing equipment and maybe even go fishing in Alaska. I like to play the guitar. I’d like to get really good, but to do that I need practice and who has time to practice the guitar when there are bills to pay? Spare moments are spent learning useful skills, not dinking around with something that requires all your time to actually get good at it. I’d also really like to have a shop where I could build or create whatever I come up with. I would like to have the means and materials to dream up something and make it a reality. I might even be able to solve some problems.

I served a mission in Mexico, and met a lot of great people there. I made a lot of friends and became quite attached to them and their families. I’d love to visit in person rather than Facebook messaging and Skype. But such a trip also costs more money and time than I can justify spending.

Something else that I value is education. A couple of things which keep me from learning about some interesting subjects (aviation for example) is the cost of instruction and cost of time which in normal circumstances would be dedicated to work and living expenses. I also would like to be able to help others to afford the opportunities to educate themselves, including my children.

Hobbies would be nice to be able to spend time on but I imagine that even if I did find time and means enough to work on them I would probably use most of it developing the security and well-being of my family instead. I would like to reduce dependence on other organizations and sources as much as possible. Being financially independent is a huge factor.

Another point: can I be so selfish as to spend my life worrying about myself and my own interests? I had never thought about poverty as selfishness, but someone mentioned it in a blog and it makes sense to me. See http://wp.me/p3d0bn-8

I’m not sure how much money all this would add up to, maybe more, perhaps less than the 100,000 dollar mark. But if I can achieve this goal it would be very significant to me in itself. It would give me an idea of what I am capable of doing. It would prove to me the power of desire and dedication. I would have validated my ability to realize my own dreams. And having stretched myself to win such a sum I would not only have learned many valuable lessons about how to do it, but know that I could do it again.

So in summary, what are my leading motivations?

  1. Family
  2. Education
  3. Career
  4. Giving back
  5. Personal Validation
Leave a Reply

